Ariane Soft PPL2 Pocket Programming DataMite
  #1  
Old 01-18-2010, 09:38 PM
BERUNIN BERUNIN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Default Wolfenstein3D in PPL

Hi friends, this is my New Year gift for you. not complete but I'm glad she write to me how you like it or not...
not know then how to fix the problems with "texture mapping" if player is rotated ?
Attached Files
File Type: zip Wolfenstein3d.zip (15.3 KB, 171 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2010, 02:12 PM
c4esar c4esar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 41
Default

Hi Berunin, I really like your prog - it's really fast!
Nice!

Greetz, c4esar
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2010, 03:17 PM
kornalius kornalius is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 551
Default

OMG, that is so cool. Very impressed by this.
__________________
Regards,
Alain Deschenes
ArianeSoft Inc.
http://www.arianesoft.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2010, 03:41 PM
BERUNIN BERUNIN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Default

thanks . I forgot to write on the landscape mode (640x480,320x240...) is the optimum setting plane_y$=0.66;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-21-2010, 01:37 PM
Nicknack Nicknack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Default

I like it too, much better than my try I did some time ago
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-21-2010, 04:15 PM
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Thumbs up

Holy poop!

How quick? - I think you need to put some lead in your shoes and slow down! lol.

This is unbelieveable. PPL code smaller than the textures!!!!

Is this optimised or just coded as you thought of it?

Man I can see some sweet games in PPL now! - Its soooo much better than the line drawn version that I did ages ago!

I will be examining the code very closely!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2010, 07:30 AM
BERUNIN BERUNIN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Default new version

Hi Mike (very good humor ) is not my code it only transcribed and edited for ppl. Now here the new version to the original code gefox. new code is unfortunately quite slow , but do not know how to do better .. who counsel?
Attached Files
File Type: zip Wolfenstein3d v2.zip (783.8 KB, 169 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:30 PM
Nicknack Nicknack is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 527
Default

I did some quick changes:
1. drawsurface instead of drawsprite
2. repeat-loop instead of for-loop
3. call create world only once in winmain! you don't need to check if world was created in every WM_PAINT
4. the player shouldn't be able to go forward and backwards at the same time, so I put the if-loops together to an else-if-loop.

this gives you a small speed boost. to get more out it you have to optimize your calculations, eg. try to avoid things like sqrt.
Attached Files
File Type: txt edited Berunin_wolf.txt (9.5 KB, 158 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2010, 02:24 PM
BERUNIN BERUNIN is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 21
Default

Ohh.. Excellent work NICKNACK ! well I do not like "for loops". if he code in while loop to replace the assembler. would be about as fast ..! Thanks for help :0)

Last edited by BERUNIN; 01-24-2010 at 04:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-26-2010, 06:38 AM
Mike Halliday Mike Halliday is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warrington, United Kingdom
Posts: 821
Send a message via Skype™ to Mike Halliday
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicknack View Post
I did some quick changes:
1. drawsurface instead of drawsprite
2. repeat-loop instead of for-loop
3. call create world only once in winmain! you don't need to check if world was created in every WM_PAINT
4. the player shouldn't be able to go forward and backwards at the same time, so I put the if-loops together to an else-if-loop.

this gives you a small speed boost. to get more out it you have to optimize your calculations, eg. try to avoid things like sqrt.
I tried this in PPLV2 and it shows 'Not responding' - Works well in V1.53 though -

How much speed impact would there be if you added sky and floor?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) ArianeSoft Inc.
Copyright © 2009 www.ppl-lang.com - All rights reserved
Web Design by BR Web Consulting Ltd